for pulic for researcher English
General Introduction
>Top >Topics >Nobel Prize
last update: 08/10/09   
Nambu, Kobayashi and Maskawa win the 2008 Nobel Prize for Physics.

Nambu, Kobayashi and Maskawa

On the 7th of October (Tuesday) at 6:45 pm, Nobel Foundation announced the name of the Nobel Prize winners in Physics. Among the recipients, are Yoichiro Nambu, Professor emeritus of the University of Chicago, Makoto KOBAYASHI, Professor emeritus of KEK and Toshihide MASKAWA, Professor emeritus of Kyoto University.

Nambu is awarded for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics. Kobayashi and Maskawa are awarded for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature.

We would like to congratulate them as the international recognition of their achievement in science.

The Nobel Prize special edition page is here.

Link to : The Nobel Foundation

1-1 Oho, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-0801 Japan | Copyright | Send Question |