Professor Emeritus Eiji Kako elected Chair of the TESLA Technology Collaboration (TTC)

>Japanese version

Professor Emeritus Eiji Kako of KEK’s Accelerator Laboratory has been elected Chairman of the TESLA Technology Collaboration (TTC) [1], an international organization of researchers working on research and development related to Superconducting Radio Frequency (SRF).
The purpose of the TTC is to promote research and development of SRF accelerator technology and related accelerator research. Recently, it has been used in the European XFEL (European Free Electron Laser) and in large proton and ion accelerators.
The current TTC meeting, which originated from the 1st International TESLA Workshop held in 1990, was restructured in 2004, and has been held once or twice a year since then. The TTC meeting has made a great contribution to the technological progress in many worldwide SRF accelerators for more than 30 years [2]. The TTC members consist of 64 research institutes in 17 countries and regions around the world that have the technology to develop SRF accelerators. The term of office of the TTC Chairman is three years, starting in January 2022.

[1] TESLA Technology Collaboration (
[2] CERNCourier2020NovDec-digitaledition.pdf