Nobel Prize

Nambu, Kobayashi and Maskawa win the 2008 Nobel Prize for Physics.(2008.10.7)
Kobayashi and Maskawa are awarded for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature.

The Accelerator that Proved the Nobelists’ Theory: KEKB

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008

On Wednesday, 24 September, KEK held a symposium entitled “Starting up the world’s most powerful accelerators: LHC and J-PARC” in Tokyo. This symposium was the second one in a series of symposiums aiming for gaining more understanding of accelerator science.