Professor Emeritus Eiji Kako was awarded Suwa Prize

Professor Emeritus Eiji Kako of the KEK Accelerator Laboratory was awarded the Suwa Prize from the Foundation for High Energy Accelerator Science.
Since participating in the research and development of the superconducting radio frequency (SRF) accelerating system of the KEK TRISTAN accelerator, Prof. Kako has been involved in SRF research for over 30 years and is a world authority in the field of SRF.

He has played a central role in the development of the 1.3 GHz SRF cavity accelerator system, which is currently the mainstream in electron linear accelerators, in improving the performance of SRF cavities by electropolishing and in developing the input coupler for the RF power input. He has been involved in research and development since the early days of SRF cavities and has made efforts to improving the performance of the SRF systems for the STF and cERL accelerators at KEK.

He has also been involved in human resource development for the advancement of SRF technology in the Asian region, including Japan, and has made significant contributions to the field of SRF in the whole Asian region. In 2022, he was elected chair of the TESLA Technology Collaboration (TTC), an international organization of researchers, and is an active member of the international community.

Professor Emeritus Kako’s contributions to the development of accelerator science over such a long period of time as well as his outstanding achievements have been highly evaluated.